Artist Interview: Jackie Walsh

This month’s interview comes from Jackie Walsh, a graphic designer based in New England. A life-long artist, Jackie may have only just begun to explore graphic design but her artwork is not to be missed. Check her out now!

BOM: When did you start creating graphic designs? And was it always graphic work or did you start with more traditional mediums?

Walsh: I started working in Graphic Design when I returned back to college after deciding to change careers. I spent most of my career working in the human service field in various positions with the longest job in mental health/addictions as a counselor. I have always loved art and creativity but it was a tough field when I graduated high school back in 1978. Things change so much over the years and I decided if I wanted to follow my heart it was now or never and I returned to college to pursue that dream.

I have always created works of art as far back as I could remember whether it as sketching, photography, watercolors, sewing, or any type of medium I could use.

mountain-composite

BOM: What’s your process for making a design? How does that process change when you’re doing something for a company/client?

Walsh: When I create any design I begin with quick sketches/words to get my ideas on paper. The final design usually ends up being a combination of those first rough ideas. This process would remain the same if I were creating a design for myself or for a client.

BOM: What software do you use most often?

Walsh: I use Adobe software- InDesign, Illustrator, and my favorite, Photoshop.

BOM: What are some of the challenges you face regularly?

Walsh: I tend to be a perfectionist and have so many ideas, so my greatest challenge is to make a decision on what’s my best for my design and to just go with that.

creative-bird

BOM: What are some of the benefits to working as a graphic designer?

Walsh: The benefit of working as a graphic designer is to use my artist abilities to create beautiful designs I can feel proud of.

BOM: What’s one of the more unusually pieces you’ve done – either for a client or for yourself?

Walsh: I would not say it was unusual, but there was one I was very proud of. My typography project of a case study I had worked on over the course of the semester. I was nervous to present it yet when I did, my professor told me she just loved my design as well as did my classmates! I also won an Honorable Mention award in the graphic design spring exhibit at my college for my photo “Bee’s”.

bees
BOM: Where can people find your work?

Walsh: People can find my work by going to my portfolio website, Etsy and Facebook.

BOM: What’s a piece of advice you’d give your younger self?

Walsh: Some advice I would give my younger self would be to follow your heart, believe in yourself and do what you love to do!

illustration-man

BOM: Anything you’d like to add?

Walsh: I feel it’s really hard to define graphic design – there are so many different variables to our jobs and that is what I LOVE most about it!
Leave a Reply

