Excuses, Or The Lies We Tell Ourselves

I’ve written about this before, but it bares repeating: write every day!

writer

In the six months since my previous post, I’ve gotten better about writing at least one line every day. It’s not always for the same short story, and sometimes I cop out and count BOM blog writing as my writing of day, but I’ve gotten better.

Except I still have “cheat days” where I don’t write. I have excuses to protect myself: I didn’t have time, my laptop needs to charge, I have writer’s block, I wrote yesterday, etc.

"Calvin and Hobbes" by Bill Watterson
“Calvin and Hobbes” by Bill Watterson

And that was fine until I read an essay on excuses. The writer argued that all excuses can be boiled down to one idea: you didn’t make it a priority. They continued writing that, instead of giving an excuse of why you didn’t do something, say “I didn’t make it a priority.” From there, you have to ask yourself “why wasn’t it made a priority?”

Example: I didn’t text my dad back and didn’t make it a priority because he’s an asshole and I don’t care if he has to wait a couple of days to get an answer.

I’m a writer, so my writing has to be a priority. It should be up there with eating, petting kitties and day-dreaming about winning an Oscar. When I don’t make writing a priority, I’m placing my dreams behind playing Plants Vs Zombies 2. And that’s not okay.

 

Plants vs. Zombies 2
I do love killing zombies

 

The goal of telling myself to make my writing a priority is to reduce those cheat days down to one a month. Be it by guilt, by excitement or just because you know you should, creators need to work on their craft every day. No one is going to give you an award for clearing a level without using sunflowers.

So readers, what excuses do you use? What are you making a priority over your writing?

One thought on “Excuses, Or The Lies We Tell Ourselves

Leave a Reply

