“Blink of the Screen” by Terry Pratchett

22570746Working at a library, it’s not hard to find a decent book to read. So, naturally, when I saw the book of short stories by the famous Discworld author titled Blink of the Screen, I had to check it out.

The first story was written when he was thirteen, and yet it reads as if he’d just written it. All the stories come from different publications throughout his life, including a radio broadcast.

In all honesty, I haven’t been writing that much, but after starting this book, I got excited to put pen to paper again. His voice in all these stories is so strong that it helped me find a voice for the story I started writing while I was reading this. And the way he writes is so clever. He incorporates background information during the action, following the “show, don’t tell” rule of writing that every writer should know and respect.

The book was divided into a section for general and fantasy stories, each taking place seemingly in its own world, and a section for the stories that take place in Discworld with characters from Pratchett’s famous 41-book series. I wish I had read them so I could recognize some of the characters.

I have read Wee Free Men, which is part of the Discworld series and the first of the Tiffany Aching subseries, and both that and this book were phenomenal. My next goal is to read the entire Discworld series, starting with Color of Magic, and I highly recommend both to anyone who enjoys fantasy and especially good writing.

You can read more about Terry Pratchett at his website.

Leave a Reply

