A Day at the Zoo

I had a family day at the Franklin Park Zoo and had some real cool experiences. Check it out!

DSCF0523

This is the camel I rode. I got to ride a camel. It is a camel I have ridden on. What a ride!

DSCF0557

One giraffe was sick but we got to see this one with his zebra friend!

DSCF0559

The zebra was apparently photo shy. Or maybe he was just looking for nicer grass.

DSCF0560

Isn’t this statue of Kiki and Kimani adorable?

DSCF0614

Gorillas love their blankets…

DSCF0632

Slitherinn. Slytherin. I get it! I wonder what kind of animal is in there?

DSCF0638

“Thanksssss, amiga, for snapping my photo while I’m trying to ssssleep.”

DSCF0645

This definitely looks like something you would find in the Slytherin common room.

DSCF0671

The one animal I wanted to see and it was hiding behind rocks while napping. I’ve always had a soft spot for tapirs since I learned about rain forest animals in elementary school.

DSCF0681

He’s watching me.

DSCF0725

“…Three geese a-laying…”

DSCF0734

“Two black swans.”

DSCF0756

“5 Kan-ga-roooooos.” Okay, so the song’s out of order, but now you’re thinking about Christmas.

DSCF0769

Kanga-yoga.

DSCF0782

I guess it was just better grass he was looking for.

DSCF0784

Cat nap.

DSCF0806

And the other male lion cat napping.

DSCF0809

Isn’t he adorable?

DSCF0820

Oh, look! He got up!

DSCF0824

And he’s down again for more snoozing. Look at those teeth!

DSCF0825

Cute kitty!

DSCF0837

 

Bongo. I just love saying that. Bongo, bongo, bongo. Not the drum but the antelope.

 

It’s great to get new experiences, even simply visiting a zoo, to get a glimpse of a world in which you don’t normally live. The zoo had a few different worlds: the Savannah, the Outback, and a tropical rain forest complete with running water and a baby gorilla (not pictured because the photos didn’t come out well).

Writing prompt: visit some place you have never been before and write in the perspective of a person who has been there or lived there before your visit.

Leave a Reply

