Music To My Ears

Recently, the Buck Off Facebook page shared an article that stated how music can effect someone’s productivity. The article discussed how humans have a tendency to use music and sounds as background and how that can effect a business ability to focus.

The study found that when people listen to just instrumental music that had heavy nature sounds or sounded liked water/rain, it helped increase the ability to focus and be more productive. Obviously, there’s a lot of subject when it comes to the findings of this study – everybody is different and just because something works for one person, doesn’t mean it will work for everyone.

The Experiment

However, after reading the article I decided to experiment on myself. For one week, I opened my regular playlist and began typing in a word doc. As of right now, that story has 918 words.

The second week, I made a new playlist on YouTube featuring sounds of thunderstorms, waterfalls, hail storms and swamp sounds while typing a different story. At the end of the week, that piece was 3,030 words!

Now, I know my experiment is not 100% scientific. The study population was too small, there’s a strong chance of unintended bias and the test period was really short. But even with all that said, I think the nature sounds helped. I was distracted with someone singing, I didn’t stop writing in order to karaoke a truly amazing rendition of “Bad Romance” and I couldn’t really tell how much time had passed since the nature music just flowed into the next song easily.

Hidden Results

After changing to the nature playlist, I found a secret result that might prove how skewed my experiment was: I got bored with the music. I found after three days of listening to nature sounds that it lacked anything to keep me entertained. That might have effected my drive to write – in a way, I ignored the music and made my brain focus on the story more.

Another interesting find from this was the discovery of video game music soundtracks on YouTube. Listening to the soundtracks of Mario, Pokemon, Zelda games and Donkey Kong Country not only had nature sounds, but it changed up enough to keep me entertained. It also provided a heavy dose of nostalgia – which might not make me focus more but does relax me.

Conclusion  

While it’s still too early to tell if it’ll help, I’ve started to stop playing a pop-heavy music playlist and begun playing a video game playlist. Again, just because this helps me doesn’t mean it’s going to help you. Yet I’ll argue that all creators need to experiment with how they produce their art. Maybe something new will inspire you in a completely unexpected way.

It’s worth a try.

Read the article here: http://www.businessinsider.com/the-best-music-for-productivity-2015-7

Here is a YouTube playlist that I like: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yUGU_Zlf9tU&list=RDyUGU_Zlf9tU

Leave a Reply

