A Green Day Play and a Cabaret

My boyfriend does so much for me, so when I saw a flyer advertising Marblehead Little Theatre’s production of the play “Green Day’s American Idiot,” I decided to surprise him and get tickets. He’d recently mentioned how Green Day was a band he used to listen to, and I hoped the play would be just as intriguing to him as it sounded to me. 

 

DSCF0387If there’s one thing I can say about MLT, it’s how all the actors amazingly coordinate with each other on such a small stage. And each person on the stage was extremely talented. At one point I think I actually got goose bumps when I was into what was happening in the story of the play.

 

After the play was over, there was a cabaret (which was part of the surprise) in which the actors and actresses sang some of their favorite songs from movies and plays, including “When She Loved Me” from Toy Story 2, “Take Me or Leave Me” from RENT, “Agony” from Into the Woods, and best of all, Frozen‘s “Let It Go,” sung by the lead actor wearing a white wig. I’m not even joking.

Leave a Reply

