Music Stirling in My Heart

On June 13th, I found myself in Boston with my boyfriend, preparing myself to meet his brother and some of their friends, and apparently also preparing for a surprise event that we were all going to that night. Finally, right before we met everyone else on the way to grab a bite to eat, I found out where we were going: to a Lindsey Stirling concert!

 

“Who?” I asked when I was told. The name sounded vaguely familiar, but I couldn’t place it. He explained how she’s a violinist who plays and dances simultaneously, which rang a bell, but a very dim bell that you can only hear if you concentrate really hard, and even then you think you might be imagining it. But I can neither dance nor play violin, and someone who could do both at once sounded amazing.

 

It was! I don’t know how she does it, but dance while playing violin she did. I stopped trying to think about the science of possibility when she had a fast violin solo and was twirling around at the same time. I can’t even pat my head and rub my tummy at the same time.

 

There were so many songs, some accompanied by her corresponding music video projected in the background, and all of them were so good that I couldn’t pick a favorite, although I did pay closer attention to “Take Flight” after my boyfriend said it was one of his favorites.

 

Since that night, I’ve been listening to and watching Stirling’s music videos almost nonstop, and I’ve come out with two favorites, shown below:

 

 

and

 

 

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

