Poetry Festival: Part One

DSCF0004It’s strange and a bit hypocritical of me to say the Massachusetts Poetry Festival, which took place this year on Friday, May 1st through Sunday, May 3rd, is the one event I look forward to every year, seeing as how it took forever to register for the events (making me miss some interesting workshops), and it took just as long to write about it and keep the creative juices flowing that were created from attending inspirational events and meeting interesting people.

 

22002085This year they started the festival with student events, so I was able to rest up and have energy for all the other events, including the ones that ran into the night. My poetry festival experience started with hearing cultural poetry, some with musical accompaniment, from different countries – Jordan, Brazil, Spain, Greece. The second event focused on mythology, especially that of Greece (one of my favorite topics!). Sadly, I didn’t get to any workshops that day, but all the readings were inspiring, especially the late night event with Denise Duhamel, Nick Flynn (who I remember enjoying hearing last year), and Adrian Matejka. They left me eager for the poetic excitement I was sure to enjoy the next day.

 

Stay tuned for more on the Poetry Festival once I finish procrastinating!

Leave a Reply

