Guess the Book!

Do you know which books the following quotes are from? Without googling them? Let’s see if your reading interests match Editor Sandy’s!

education-books

  1. “It does not do to dwell on dreams and forget to live.”
  2. “You mean you’ll put down your rock and I’ll put down my sword and we’ll try to kill each other like civilized people, is that it?”
  3. “Hades raised an eyebrow. When he sat forward in his throne, shadowy faces appeared in the folds of his black robes, faces of torment, as if the garment was stitched of trapped souls from the Fields of Punishment, trying to get out. The ADHD part of me wondered, off-task, whether the rest of his clothes were made the same way. What horrible things would you have to do in your life to get woven into Hades’ underwear?”
  4. “It’s — it’s as if there is a dragon inside me. I don’t know how big she is; she may still be growing. But she has wings, and strength, and—and I can’t keep her in a cage. She’ll die. I’ll die.”
  5. “And now here is my secret; a very simple secret: It is only with the heart that one can see rightly; what is essential is invisible to the eyes.”
  6. “I could hear my heart beating. I could hear everyone’s heart. I could hear the human noise we sat there making, not one of us moving, not even when the room went dark.”
  7. “You will find that I will only truly have left this school when none here are loyal to me.”
  8. “Do you wish me a good morning, or mean that it is a good morning whether I want it or not; or that you feel good this morning; or that it is a morning to be good on?”
  9. “A little learning is a dangerous thing;/ drink deep or touch not the Pierian spring.”
  10. “So we beat on, boats against the current, borne back ceaselessly into the past.”

 

If you aren’t familiar with all of these, I highly recommend them. Happy Reading!

Leave a Reply

